A “FREEK”ishly Good Book: Freeks Book Review & Blog Tour

Title: Freeks
Author: Amanda Hocking
Release Date: February 2017
Publisher: Pan Macmillan
Overall Rating:  7.5/10
Genre: Romance, Adventure, Fantasy, Supernatural

“Despite all that, I couldn’t shake the chill inside my chest, like my heart had been incased in ice”
– Freeks ARC, Amanda Hocking

I haven’t read an Amanda Hocking novel in ages and this book definitely did not disappoint. Before I read this book, I judged a book by its cover and frankly, I was unsure about the novel. The cover doesn’t do it justice and nor those the little blurb on the back of the book. However, diving into the world of Mara and Gideon was definitely thrilling and is one of the best books I’ve read in a while.

The storyline was the perfect recipe of romance and adventure. It had the perfect balance of both. Since the beginning, I was already shipping both Gabe and Mara. Their relationship wasn’t too rushed, I loved the development and chemistry between the two. Their romance tugged at my heart and Gabe was definitely the cutest. The main characters both Mara and Gabe were also developed really well. Both had their issues and struggles which they somewhat managed to overcome. I loved following Mara’s story. Finding out about her history and the spiritual ancestry was something I do not read about often. I really enjoyed reading about who she was and I definitely found myself relating to this teenage girl. In addition, Gabe was your cliche mysteriously boy from town but did I mention, I love a good cliche. Gabe was definitely lovable, he had the perfect vibe and was the perfect boyfriend. What wasn’t there to love? I knew he was somehow linked to do with the murders in the carnival but I did not see the whole werewolf thing coming.

I was constantly turning the pages to see what was going to happen next. I wanted to know where Blossom went. I wanted to know who was behind the murders on the campsite and I wanted to know Gabe’s secret. I love books that just leave you on the edge with every chapter and Freeks definitely does that. When a chapter ends, it ends on a cliffhanger that makes you want to keep reading.

However, Freeks isn’t some AMAZING novel. Don’t get me wrong it’s a really good read but the story isn’t one that stands out of the crowd. There is nothing major to fangirl about and at times I did find myself confused with the many characters in the book. I think that because there were so many characters, I found it hard to recognize who was who. That’s why I didn’t give it a high 8 or a 9 but it is still a really enjoyable read that you should definitely read when given the chance.

Overall, I definitely enjoyed myself whilst reading the book and I read it within three days, which highlights the fact that I loved it. I love Gabe and following the thrilling plotline definitely left me page turning for more!

book + song:

if you liked these books, you’ll love freeks:

 

New Beginnings, New Books and Friends!! Bookish Talks, Hauls + Book Club


eowjHello, Everybody!! It’s nearly the end of February and oh, how this month has been one joyride. So many exciting things have happened this month and I can’t wait to share some of this stuff with you guys! I also have a small book haul too!

Bookish Goodies

I finally picked up, Me Before You by Jojo Moyes! I actually haven’t watched the trailer yet because I IMG_3352don’t want to ruin the book for myself. This is going to sound crazy but I love books that make my cry. I just love the thrill of emotions you get from reading the words that have been arranged in a way that sparks tears behind your eyes. It’s like magic! I actually haven’t read a book which has made me cry, this year and I kind of am hoping that I’ll cry in this! I’m reading this book as part of #thereadingrebels but I’ll talk more about that later! Have any of you guys read this book?

 

 

DSC_0009I also got a few books from some super kind publishers! I received The Yearbook Committee by Sarah Ayoub and I also got When We Collided by Emery Lord! I’m super excited to read When We Collided because if you have read Open Road Summer you would know how cute this contemporary was. When We Collided is very different but it says in the description that it’s perfect for fans of All The Bright Places and Eleanor and Park! Guess who loves both of those books? I do and I can’t wait to dive into this book! The Yearbook Committee is a book by Sarah Ayoub and it’s another contemporary that follows the story of five completely different teenagers who are going through the ups and downs of the last year of school. I also just received an ARC of Amy Zhang’s newest book This Is Where The World Ends! I haven’t actually read any of her books but I’ve heard lots about her contemporaries and I look forward to reading This Is Where The World Ends! I also preordered Lady Midnight and with it I got a Rune Keyring and lots of bookmarks! I can’t wait for this book to be released!

Library haul! Yes, I picked up Jenny Han’s The Summer When I Turned Pretty because I’m going to be re-reading it *gasps*! I know, I don’t really re-read but I actually haven’t read this book since the first book first came out and  I only remember the names of the main characters and not the actual storyline. I also picked up Love Letters To The Dead, The Young Elites and The Last Time We Said Goodbye!

Book-Club Fun! The Reading Rebels!

This month I’ve joined the group of moderators at The Reading Rebels! I am so excited to read along side all you rebels! Basically, the #thereadingrebels is a book club which you guys can join and we’ll be reading a book every month! This February its Truthwitch and next month, it’ll be Jojo Moyes’ Me Before You! We’re also on Instagram @threadingrebels ! Through this book club, I’ve also met heaps of new bookstagrammers and other book bloggers, which brings me to the next part! :

The AMAZING community of book bloggers and bookstagrammers!

I actually can’t believe it. A very long time ago (well, actually two months ago but that’s a long time for me, someone who is actually really impatient), I used to never really be a part of the book blogging community. I mean, I would like and comment once in a while but I never did it consistently. Since the end of January, I’ve been really trying to engage with the community and I’ve met and become closer with so many amazing people! Here are some of these super kind people:

Syc @Lit Mermaid
Analee @Booksnacks
Tiffany @tiffanybooks
Linh @thinpaperbacks
Kristen @Simply Bookish Things
and many more!! *cues the Big Virtual Hug*

More Bookish News + February Reads!

DSC_0002Here are some more little bookish news! I have  restarted a newer and nicer bookstagram for my blog, which you can find on the right or @hashtaglovebooks.alicia ! I actually can’t believe it because for some bizarre reason, I have managed to get 1000 amazing and lovely followers on this account and I actually can’t thank you guys enough! ALSO *QUES THE INTERNAL FREAKING OUT* I bought a DSLR! OMG! I actually can’t believe it, I’ve been wanting one for more than a hundred years and I finally got one, as an extremely early birthday present. This means that I’ll be able to take many more amazing new photos! Now onto my February reads! I’m actually hiding because I’ve read so little this month, it has just been so jam-packed, and I have to get into the rhythm of school, blog, photography, homework and sport (#firstworldproblems) but seriously, though, I think I only just discovered my regime and hopefully, I’ll read more! I can feel a little bit of a reading slump creeping up on me but I’m trying to have a no-reading slump streak and so, I’ve been trying to read more!

This February, I’ve read The Young Elites series, which I absolutely adore I have a review that I posted early this week! I managed to read Cinder as well and I can’t wait to finish the rest of the series! I also just finished The Yearbook Committee which was a fun contemporary that I really enjoyed! Now, I’m currently reading When We Collided!

So, Thank You!!! You guys seriously rock my world, and even though I may not have a thousand followers on this blog the amount of amazing people I have met is unreal! I have had an amazing month and I can’t thank you enough!

How was your February? What do you plan on reading next month?