Major Book News!!!

Hi!!!

Yes, I know, I’ve missed about two weeks worth of book news. Today, I’ll be giving you a major book news post, informing you guys on any information you’ve missed out in the young-adult bookosphere!!! I’ll start with the Shadow hunters TV Show and other Mortal Instruments TV Show!
The first episode is nearly finished and heaps of photos of the cast and set have been posted all over the actors’/actress’ Instagram and Twitter. Since the legalization of same-sex marriage in America (Yay! for that), the Mortal Instruments fandom bursted into a flurry of excitement for Malec scenes but Cassandra Clare kept herself hush hush and instead announced that Helen and Aline will have a wedding in the coming Tales of the Shadowhunter Academy series. You can check out a snippet for that here! Recently the latest novel of the Shadowhunter Academy series came out- The Evil We Love! If you loved Sizzy, you must definitely check this novel out!

View Full Post “Major Book News!!!”

Review: Burn For Burn by Jenny Han

Title: Burn For Burn
Author: Jenny Han & Siobhan Vivian
Release Date: September 2012
Series: Burn For Burn
Retail Price: $16.99
Overall Rating: 8/10
Genre: Contemporary, Drama, Chick Lit

Jenny Han and Siobhan Vivian collaborate together to bring a chilling contemporary, drama novel, that revolves around three girls who just want sweet revenge. Burn For Burn is the first novel in the Burn For Burn trilogy that tells the story of revenge through three different perspectives. Jenny Han and Siobhan Vivian create a unique and entertaining contemporary story-line that is different to the normal “cutesy-romance”. Burn For Burn is different and sets a haunting mode on teenage drama. This book is perfect for fans of Pretty Little Liars.

Burn For Burn is set on a small island, Jar Island, where there is a typical school with typical teenagers. There are those who are smart, those who are superficial and then there are those who are quiet but are plotting vengeance. Three girls- Lillia, Mary and Kat, each have been hurt and torn apart by three completely different people- Alex, Reeve and Rennie. Together they team up to target each person to bring them down, one by one and nothing is going to stop them.

*Warning: Spoilers ahead for Burn For Burn by Jenny Han and Siobhan Vivian*

I honestly highly enjoyed this novel. It is a fun read as you watch their revenge plots slowly unfold. It was pretty much everything I love in a contemporary novel. It was heavy, chilling and witty but still quite realistic. It is set in a typical high school, with typical teenagers which made the story really relatable, which is an aspect I really enjoy.The storyline was really thrilling and surprisingly enjoyed reading from three different perspectives. I did get mixed up at times between the three characters but Jenny Han and Siobhan Vivian conveyed the “teenage-girl” thoughts through their writing.

Kat is a girl who’s worse enemy is Rennie and Alex and she is one of the main perspectives in the book. However, she was one of the characters which I didn’t really like mainly because of her reckless nature and kind of crude attitude.  She seemed like a girl who doesn’t have a care for the world and all she cares about is what she wants. I didn’t like how she jumped to conclusions about “Rennie’s group” but she was the one who thought of the plan for the “revenge plot”. I am excited to see how Kat ends up at the end of the series because right now she is kind of hanging in the middle without a particular purpose.

Lillia was the most relatable character, mainly because I’ve been in some of the situations she has been through more than once. Everything she does is to leave a good impression or just out of kindness which is a position we all have been. She was the most normal out of the three and is definitely my favorite for that reason. Mary was also a main character and even though it was hard to relate closely to the character, she still went through lots of character development which was a highlight. I felt really sympathetic towards her character and Jenny Han and Siobhan Vivian really showed Mary’s fragile ego through her backstory, which is something I really enjoy reading about in a character.

However, at times in the novel I did laugh and it wasn’t because of the jokes that were cracked, it was because of the seriousness of the revenge plot and how they were making a mountain out of a molehill. They were over reacting a bit much and it made it more superficial than it should have been. Lillia wanted deep vengeance on a boy, who was a close friend and was so called “dating” her sister. It wasn’t that big of a problem yet they destroyed Alex’s car and scattered his personal poems all around the school. They were also drugging people which was just way too over the top. It was really funny how much revenge they wanted from people that did fairly minor things to the girls.

The drama was superficial but it was entertaining at the same time because we are all guilty of overacting to what people said about you. My favorite theme they explored in the whole book was revenge. I had so much fun reading about how their revenge plans turned out and what they did to avenge Alex, Reeve and Rennie. One of my favorites was the home-coming queen plot, where Lillia turned out to be home-coming queen instead of Rennie.

We ended with the home-coming ending in a disaster. There are still many unanswered questions which is why I am highly anticipating to read the next book. I am also excited to see what they will do next and what their next revenge plots will be. Overall, I really enjoyed reading this fun and twisting book. I haven’t read a book like this one at all and I highly recommend it!

#lovebooks❤

Book News- 12/04/15

Hey Guys!

There have been quite a few exciting things! Just as a blog update I’ll be writing two new reviews and as you may have noted there have been a new change to the layout of my blog- hope you guys like it.

Jennifer L. Armentrout’s novella to the Lux series, Oblivion, has a new snippet released:
tumblr_nm7k2k22gb1s6ln85o1_500

Also, Every Last Breathe received a cover reveal and plot synopsis! The whole Dark Elements series’ covers are being revamped, which I am so grateful for because I hated the previous covers. There will most likely be a #mythoughts on that soon! Check out the cover and synopsis here at: http://www.jenniferarmentrout.com/every-last-breath/

A new scene of the Paper Towns movie will be released tomorrow at the MTV awards! Cara, Nat and John Green will be there to release it! The trailer for Theo James’ new movie with Dakota Fanning, Franny, was released.

That’s all this week on book news!

#lovebooks❤