New Beginnings, New Books and Friends!! Bookish Talks, Hauls + Book Club


eowjHello, Everybody!! It’s nearly the end of February and oh, how this month has been one joyride. So many exciting things have happened this month and I can’t wait to share some of this stuff with you guys! I also have a small book haul too!

Bookish Goodies

I finally picked up, Me Before You by Jojo Moyes! I actually haven’t watched the trailer yet because I IMG_3352don’t want to ruin the book for myself. This is going to sound crazy but I love books that make my cry. I just love the thrill of emotions you get from reading the words that have been arranged in a way that sparks tears behind your eyes. It’s like magic! I actually haven’t read a book which has made me cry, this year and I kind of am hoping that I’ll cry in this! I’m reading this book as part of #thereadingrebels but I’ll talk more about that later! Have any of you guys read this book?

 

 

DSC_0009I also got a few books from some super kind publishers! I received The Yearbook Committee by Sarah Ayoub and I also got When We Collided by Emery Lord! I’m super excited to read When We Collided because if you have read Open Road Summer you would know how cute this contemporary was. When We Collided is very different but it says in the description that it’s perfect for fans of All The Bright Places and Eleanor and Park! Guess who loves both of those books? I do and I can’t wait to dive into this book! The Yearbook Committee is a book by Sarah Ayoub and it’s another contemporary that follows the story of five completely different teenagers who are going through the ups and downs of the last year of school. I also just received an ARC of Amy Zhang’s newest book This Is Where The World Ends! I haven’t actually read any of her books but I’ve heard lots about her contemporaries and I look forward to reading This Is Where The World Ends! I also preordered Lady Midnight and with it I got a Rune Keyring and lots of bookmarks! I can’t wait for this book to be released!

Library haul! Yes, I picked up Jenny Han’s The Summer When I Turned Pretty because I’m going to be re-reading it *gasps*! I know, I don’t really re-read but I actually haven’t read this book since the first book first came out and  I only remember the names of the main characters and not the actual storyline. I also picked up Love Letters To The Dead, The Young Elites and The Last Time We Said Goodbye!

Book-Club Fun! The Reading Rebels!

This month I’ve joined the group of moderators at The Reading Rebels! I am so excited to read along side all you rebels! Basically, the #thereadingrebels is a book club which you guys can join and we’ll be reading a book every month! This February its Truthwitch and next month, it’ll be Jojo Moyes’ Me Before You! We’re also on Instagram @threadingrebels ! Through this book club, I’ve also met heaps of new bookstagrammers and other book bloggers, which brings me to the next part! :

The AMAZING community of book bloggers and bookstagrammers!

I actually can’t believe it. A very long time ago (well, actually two months ago but that’s a long time for me, someone who is actually really impatient), I used to never really be a part of the book blogging community. I mean, I would like and comment once in a while but I never did it consistently. Since the end of January, I’ve been really trying to engage with the community and I’ve met and become closer with so many amazing people! Here are some of these super kind people:

Syc @Lit Mermaid
Analee @Booksnacks
Tiffany @tiffanybooks
Linh @thinpaperbacks
Kristen @Simply Bookish Things
and many more!! *cues the Big Virtual Hug*

More Bookish News + February Reads!

DSC_0002Here are some more little bookish news! I have  restarted a newer and nicer bookstagram for my blog, which you can find on the right or @hashtaglovebooks.alicia ! I actually can’t believe it because for some bizarre reason, I have managed to get 1000 amazing and lovely followers on this account and I actually can’t thank you guys enough! ALSO *QUES THE INTERNAL FREAKING OUT* I bought a DSLR! OMG! I actually can’t believe it, I’ve been wanting one for more than a hundred years and I finally got one, as an extremely early birthday present. This means that I’ll be able to take many more amazing new photos! Now onto my February reads! I’m actually hiding because I’ve read so little this month, it has just been so jam-packed, and I have to get into the rhythm of school, blog, photography, homework and sport (#firstworldproblems) but seriously, though, I think I only just discovered my regime and hopefully, I’ll read more! I can feel a little bit of a reading slump creeping up on me but I’m trying to have a no-reading slump streak and so, I’ve been trying to read more!

This February, I’ve read The Young Elites series, which I absolutely adore I have a review that I posted early this week! I managed to read Cinder as well and I can’t wait to finish the rest of the series! I also just finished The Yearbook Committee which was a fun contemporary that I really enjoyed! Now, I’m currently reading When We Collided!

So, Thank You!!! You guys seriously rock my world, and even though I may not have a thousand followers on this blog the amount of amazing people I have met is unreal! I have had an amazing month and I can’t thank you enough!

How was your February? What do you plan on reading next month?

 

 

Blogger Recognition Award

Hey Guys!

This is a post for the Blogger Recognition Award, I haven’t done an award in ages and so I decided to do one today! I would like to give a big thank you to The Sparkly Reader and Giselle at Hardwork Boulevard! Definitely check out their blog because they post super awesome things and are the nicest bloggers around! The original blog award was created by the book blog, Edge of Night!

Here is what you need to do:
Select 15 other blogs you want to give the award to!
Write a post to show off your award!
Give a brief story of how your blog got started, and give a piece or two of advice to new bloggers. Thank whoever nominated you, and provide a link to their blog. List who you’ve nominated in the post and link your post to Edge of Night.

How Did My Blog Start?
I started my blog because I loved watching other people talk and write about books and if you know me personally, you would know how much I love talking about my books. I really wanted to spread the love of reading and how much reading has inspired me, which is why I decided to start a blog. My friend started a blog about half a year before me and it’s called Artemis Skadi. You might have seen her around on my blog! She kind of inspired me to write my own blog, as well, as she used to tell me how much fun it was. I certainly do not regret it and I love blogging. I can’t imagine myself not blogging! It has been a crazy adventure and it has only been less than year.

Two Pieces of Advice To New Bloggers
1) BE YOURSELF!
This may sound super cheesy but whatever you write just be yourself in your writing. Write like how you would talk because it’s your voice that makes you unique. It’s your writing, quirkiness and craziness that makes people want to follow you! Write about what you want because it’s your blog and you are entitled to your own opinion!

2) Meet other bloggers and have fun!!!
You aren’t the only one blogging, step out of your comfort zone and try to make an effort to meet and check out other blogs. HAVE FUN, is an important one because if you think blogging is homework then that isn’t blogging. You should be proud of your achievement no matter how small or how big the accomplishment is!

What is one piece of blogging advice you have? Comment below!

Here are 15 bloggers I nominate:
Book Snacks
My Tiny Obsessions
Book Dilettante
CK Reads
Famtaq
Rachael’s Books
Fangirls on The Road
Heart Full Of Books
Jessy’s Corner
Written Word Worlds
The Perks of Being a Bibliophile
Infernal Lovers
Coffee Book Love
Hermione Fowl
Books Over People

#lovebooks❤