New Beginnings, New Books and Friends!! Bookish Talks, Hauls + Book Club


eowjHello, Everybody!! It’s nearly the end of February and oh, how this month has been one joyride. So many exciting things have happened this month and I can’t wait to share some of this stuff with you guys! I also have a small book haul too!

Bookish Goodies

I finally picked up, Me Before You by Jojo Moyes! I actually haven’t watched the trailer yet because I IMG_3352don’t want to ruin the book for myself. This is going to sound crazy but I love books that make my cry. I just love the thrill of emotions you get from reading the words that have been arranged in a way that sparks tears behind your eyes. It’s like magic! I actually haven’t read a book which has made me cry, this year and I kind of am hoping that I’ll cry in this! I’m reading this book as part of #thereadingrebels but I’ll talk more about that later! Have any of you guys read this book?

 

 

DSC_0009I also got a few books from some super kind publishers! I received The Yearbook Committee by Sarah Ayoub and I also got When We Collided by Emery Lord! I’m super excited to read When We Collided because if you have read Open Road Summer you would know how cute this contemporary was. When We Collided is very different but it says in the description that it’s perfect for fans of All The Bright Places and Eleanor and Park! Guess who loves both of those books? I do and I can’t wait to dive into this book! The Yearbook Committee is a book by Sarah Ayoub and it’s another contemporary that follows the story of five completely different teenagers who are going through the ups and downs of the last year of school. I also just received an ARC of Amy Zhang’s newest book This Is Where The World Ends! I haven’t actually read any of her books but I’ve heard lots about her contemporaries and I look forward to reading This Is Where The World Ends! I also preordered Lady Midnight and with it I got a Rune Keyring and lots of bookmarks! I can’t wait for this book to be released!

Library haul! Yes, I picked up Jenny Han’s The Summer When I Turned Pretty because I’m going to be re-reading it *gasps*! I know, I don’t really re-read but I actually haven’t read this book since the first book first came out and  I only remember the names of the main characters and not the actual storyline. I also picked up Love Letters To The Dead, The Young Elites and The Last Time We Said Goodbye!

Book-Club Fun! The Reading Rebels!

This month I’ve joined the group of moderators at The Reading Rebels! I am so excited to read along side all you rebels! Basically, the #thereadingrebels is a book club which you guys can join and we’ll be reading a book every month! This February its Truthwitch and next month, it’ll be Jojo Moyes’ Me Before You! We’re also on Instagram @threadingrebels ! Through this book club, I’ve also met heaps of new bookstagrammers and other book bloggers, which brings me to the next part! :

The AMAZING community of book bloggers and bookstagrammers!

I actually can’t believe it. A very long time ago (well, actually two months ago but that’s a long time for me, someone who is actually really impatient), I used to never really be a part of the book blogging community. I mean, I would like and comment once in a while but I never did it consistently. Since the end of January, I’ve been really trying to engage with the community and I’ve met and become closer with so many amazing people! Here are some of these super kind people:

Syc @Lit Mermaid
Analee @Booksnacks
Tiffany @tiffanybooks
Linh @thinpaperbacks
Kristen @Simply Bookish Things
and many more!! *cues the Big Virtual Hug*

More Bookish News + February Reads!

DSC_0002Here are some more little bookish news! I have  restarted a newer and nicer bookstagram for my blog, which you can find on the right or @hashtaglovebooks.alicia ! I actually can’t believe it because for some bizarre reason, I have managed to get 1000 amazing and lovely followers on this account and I actually can’t thank you guys enough! ALSO *QUES THE INTERNAL FREAKING OUT* I bought a DSLR! OMG! I actually can’t believe it, I’ve been wanting one for more than a hundred years and I finally got one, as an extremely early birthday present. This means that I’ll be able to take many more amazing new photos! Now onto my February reads! I’m actually hiding because I’ve read so little this month, it has just been so jam-packed, and I have to get into the rhythm of school, blog, photography, homework and sport (#firstworldproblems) but seriously, though, I think I only just discovered my regime and hopefully, I’ll read more! I can feel a little bit of a reading slump creeping up on me but I’m trying to have a no-reading slump streak and so, I’ve been trying to read more!

This February, I’ve read The Young Elites series, which I absolutely adore I have a review that I posted early this week! I managed to read Cinder as well and I can’t wait to finish the rest of the series! I also just finished The Yearbook Committee which was a fun contemporary that I really enjoyed! Now, I’m currently reading When We Collided!

So, Thank You!!! You guys seriously rock my world, and even though I may not have a thousand followers on this blog the amount of amazing people I have met is unreal! I have had an amazing month and I can’t thank you enough!

How was your February? What do you plan on reading next month?

 

 

21 thoughts on “New Beginnings, New Books and Friends!! Bookish Talks, Hauls + Book Club

  1. I love your Instagram photos – I can’t wait to see what new photos you’ll have with your new camera! 😀

    I just joined the book club group on Goodreads! I don’t think I’ll be able to finish Truthwitch by the end of February though… I picked it up a few days ago, and I won’t be able to really get into it until some time next week unfortunately.

    Let us know what you think of When We Collided when you get through it! I always have room on my TBR list to add one more 🙂

    This was such a great post!! It was so well-written, and I love that we get to read about the different aspects of your February! <3

    1. Thank you Jorelene!!! You are too kind and you have been such a great blogging friend! Yay! I haven’t read Truthwitch either but I’ll be reading Me Before You which is our March BOTM! I’ll keep you posted for When We Collided!

  2. I really want to get Me before You because I watched the trailer (sadly, I watched it by accident) and I really wanna read it before it comes out. I can’t wait to look at your reading group because I’d love to join, I’ve never done anything like it before so it’s something new for me!!

    I’m looking forward to exploring the Blogging world, and I hope we can become good friends in the future!

    1. I haven’t watched the trailer yet! 🙂 (No spoilers) Yes, I’m pretty new to the whole book club but I’ve enjoyed the ride, so far! You are already one of my good blogging friends! Thanks for your support!

  3. I have Me Before You waiting up next to my bed–and I hope to start it tonight!! 😀

    I LOVE books that make me cry–I think it’s proof that you are really invested in the characters and their stories! 🙂
    Two of my favorite (very different) books are The Green Mile and A Tale of Two Cities–they will ALWAYS make me cry, and I love that!

    I’m super excited about your blog and bookstagram accounts; they’re both very lovely and you deserve all of the followers you have! 🙂

    *hugs*

    ~*~RaeAnne

      1. Aww!! I’m super grateful for you, too!!
        (Would you be interested in writing a guest post for my blog?? E-mail me if so!)
        I made it 72 pages into the book before crying; just so you know! But I love it!!!!

  4. I’m really afraid to read Me Before You but I’m definitely going to read it before I see the movie and the trailer is pretty swoony! I haven’t read any books by Emery Lord but I really want to, I hope I can do it this year. Oh and amazing book haul! Congratulations on the new camera! I sooo want one as well! 🙂 And btw, I love your photographs, they are beautiful!

  5. It sounds like you had an amazing February! You got so many lovely books from publishers – I ADORE the spine for When We Collided. Is it only the spine for the ARC edition, or is it final? It’s so pretty! I’m so pleased to hear you started a bookstagram account too – I followed, and i really like your pictures 😀 I can’t wait for Lady Midnight either – I’ve had it pre-ordered since the start of January, so I hope it doesn’t take too long to arrive! 🙂

    I hope you have an amazing March, and that you enjoy Me Before You! <3
    Denise | The Bibliolater

  6. Congrats on getting the DSLR! That is always very exciting! You’re sure to go on some fun adventures with it! I remember when I got mine, I took photos of EVERYTHING! I swear I have pictures of everything in my house haha! I also started to follow you on Instagram! 🙂 Sounds like you’ll be busy reading! I finally got Winter from the library so I can’t wait to start that tomorrow! 😀

      1. It’s good to be excited! I wish I was still as enthused to take photos as I used to be. I would say explore your camera and check out all the different settings it has to offer. Definitely read the manual! That helped me figure out, and find out about SO many things I didn’t know you could do. Experiment as much as possible, I think that’s why the beginning is so fun because you learn all the cool things. Although I have to admit, there are probably thousands of things I still don’t know about my camera!
        I hope this was helpful! 🙂
        Oh and I’m meghan___murphy on Instagram if you wanna follow back 🙂

  7. I’m really excited to read Me Before You as well! I need to get that one still! But if you like books that make you cry, have you read Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys? I just baaaaawled at the end of that one! It’s so so so good! Congrats on the DSLR! I have one of those, but I want to get a new one. You can’t change mine so you can use the screen to take pictures instead of the viewfinder and I find the viewfinder to be a pain in the butt when you have to wear glasses! I really liked the Young Elites, but I haven’t read The Rose Society yet, hopefully soon! Sounds like February was pretty successful! 🙂

    1. Yes!! I’m super excited to finish off Me Before You! I haven’t read Salt to the Sea! I’ll have to check it out! Thanks for the recommendation! Young Elites is great and I highly recommend the next book! Thank you so much!

Leave a Reply